About me



Hello!  My name is Elaina.  Thanking you for stopping by my blog and taking the time to read about my goings on in our part of the world.  I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoying putting it all together.

"Lover of all things Retro. Obsessive Crown Lynn collecter, op shop trawler, wanna be crafter, reluctant cook, keen baker and aspiring gardener. A couple, 3 children (a growing brood of animals) and a house by a Vineyard. Settled in the country - enjoying life in a sunny coastal town in New Zealand. Not out in the "sticks" only 15 minutes to town. Happy in our little part of the country."
 

Getting to know me................

I am a mum to three. Bell, Tom and George.
 
My love of travel has seen me travel to Australia, Fiji, Rarotonga, Bali (one of my favourite places in the world), Hong Kong, Thailand, South Korea, America, Portugal, Spain, Italy, Greece, Belgium, Germany, Turkey, England, Ireland and Wales.
 
I have lived and worked in London. I just love this city. It's where I met Mr H - it holds so many fond memories for me. Bell did her first few years of schooling there too. I still miss it, especially the lovely friends we made there.
 
I'm a reluctant cook! Mr H is amazing in the kitchen. I have learnt alot from him. I'm only now starting to enjoy being in the kitchen.  I'm impatient by nature so it needs to be something quick and easy.
 
I do enjoy baking though - I tend to double (sometimes even triple) any butter in recipes. I make a mean vegemite scroll due to the excessive amounts of butter I throw in.
 
An obsessive tea drinker.  I love coffee with my cooked breakfasts in the weekends and a chai latte when in a café though.
 
I love kicking back with a good book or a pile of magazines.
 
I'm starting to get "my craft on".
 
I am a bit of a nana.
 
Since having George I have developed an extremely sweet tooth! Whittaker's Caramel Chocolate is one of my favourite treats.
 
I love quiet - not always easy when you have a houseful, that's why I love being in the country. On the rare occasion I am at home on my own I don't even play music. It's just me and the birds!
 
I love being at home. Pottering around the house or outside in the garden (I've taken to this slowly). I like things to be tidy - not easy with messy toddlers in the house. I'm always organising things. I like household systems and having a place for everything.  I am however VERY good at letting it all go though and do so often as I'm learning that with children you JUST have to and at the end of the day............life is too short!
 
I love Retro things - Crown Lynn crockery, chairs, linen, blankets and old suitcases. I love trawling Trademe for goodies and popping into my favourite Retro shop in town to see what treasures are new in store. Mr H is very patient with my hauls which appear in the house quite often.
 
I love Mr H and (most) my family. I have 3 sisters and two brothers - 3 of whom live nearby. I have 4 nieces and 2 nephews.
 
And for the strange and quirky facts..........click here.



 
Elaina xo
 

7 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. Thank you so much for visiting Faux Fuchsia! xo

      Delete
  2. Glad to have found your blog, lovely stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Your blog is just lovely and a great find. Thank you for sharing great recipes and beautiful photography.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Christine for visiting and commenting xo

      Delete
  4. Hi Elaina, Your blog is beautiful, so idyllic. We live on a very small block in Melbourne with not much yard for 3 small kids. However our next project is to turn our little plot into a mini (mini!) farm, complete with chickens I'm hoping! Keep getting your craft on. Karen

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...